Ben's Story

- By: Benjamin Osorio

Over the past few months, I have been working hard to make enough money to afford the Callahan Valley Training Centre. I have been working for my stepfather, Steve, who is developing a subdivision close to my home. The labour has included odd jobs such as felling and chopping trees, clearing and chipping brush, and various carpentry projects. The work, while enjoyable, has been physically taxing and should prepare me well for the training to come in BC.

I'm very excited to be moving to Whistler. I was there once before for last season's nationals. I loved the mountains and the amazing skiing facility. My brother Tomas lives in Whistler as well, so it will be nice to have him around. Along with looking forward to those aspects, I also am quite excited to be part of this new team. The team I was a member of last year (Southern Ontario Training Centre - SOTC) was very small and I felt like I did not have enough training partners. I work well independently but I also appreciate having motivated people around me to work with and help challenge myself.

As a person who is very passionate about sports, I actually have few other hobbies. I am content to spend my time playing with a soccer ball, going to the gym, biking, running, swimming, or any other physical activity. My favourite dryland training is roller skiing because it is the closest thing to skiing. I look forward to moving to Whistler on June 19 and getting to know the area and the team.

Old Article: